Inspired Teaching Residency

• • •

Overall, I think the best education courses I have taken – including my masters classes – have been from the Inspired Teacher Certification Program. I learned practical things that I could put into place the very next day.

• • •

Nov 23 11:10 am

Happy Thanksgiving! We're grateful to be included in Give It Up DC, @wcp's annual Guide to Giving. This holiday, su…

Praxis II

The Praxis II exam is divided into two sections. The Praxis II: Content Knowledge exam must be passed prior to enrollment in the Inspired Teacher Certification Program. The Praxis II: Principles of Learning & Teaching exam will be taken after the residency year.

Praxis II: Content Knowledge

The Praxis II: Subject Assessment tests measure knowledge of specific subjects that K-12 educators will teach, as well as general and subject-specific teaching skills and knowledge.

If you are accepted into the Inspired Teacher Certification Program, you will be expected to take the Praxis II for the subject area you will be teaching.

Early Childhood Education (Pre-Sch – 3rd grade)

Early Childhood Education – Test Code: 5025; Minimum score: 156

Elementary Education (1st – 6th grade)

Multiple Subjects – Test code:  5001

  • Reading and Language Arts Subtest – Test code: 5002; Minimum score: 157
  • Mathematics Subtest – Test code: 5003; Minimum score: 157
  • Social Studies Subtest – Test code: 5004; Minimum score: 155
  • Science Subtest – Test code: 5005; Minimum score: 159

To pass the Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects test you must receive a passing score on each subtest. You must take the full test on your initial attempt. If after your first attempt you did not pass one of the individual subtests, you may take just that subtest again for a reduced fee.

Praxis II content tests are offered during specific testing windows. To accept admission into the program, you must take and pass these tests by May 20, 2017.

. . .

Praxis II: Principles of Learning & Teaching

To complete the program and receive a full license to teach in the District of Columbia, candidates must pass a specialty area test. Fellows typically take these tests following the first year of teaching.

Early Childhood (Pre-K through 3rd grade)

Principles of Learning & Teaching, Early Childhood – Test code: 5621; Minimum score: 157

Elementary Education (1st through 6th grade)

Principles of Learning & Teaching, Grades K-6 – Test code: 5622; Minimum score: 160

. . .

Please visit to register online and for more information about the Praxis exams.

1436 U Street, NW, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20009 · p: 202-462-1956 / f: 202-462-1905

© 2012–2017 Center for Inspired Teaching. All rights reserved.